Spark Of Life Media

August 12, 2008

A brief moment with ‘Fear Before The March Of Flames’

Article by:
– Randy Westcott

After spending a few days with Fear Before the March of Flames, I’ve found a new respect for them. Seeing them play various shows in different settings with different set list really show cases their talent and ability to play to any crowd. From mocking the people in their tents at this years CEMF, to tearing apart the Annex Wreckroom with an unbelievable set, the boys of FBTMOF get it done no matter the situation. Jumping off the stage and trying to intimidate people who seem to be taken back by his on stage person Dave Marion talks to me about Canada, the new album and getting hit in the face with guitars;

Dave Marion tells the quiet to \'shush\' during Fear\'s set at Cutting Edge Festival in Grand Bend, Ontario.

Dave Marion tells the quiet to 'shush' during Fear's set at Cutting Edge Festival in Grand Bend, Ontario.

SOL: You guys have been in Canada for a while now, what’s one good thing and one bad thing you’ve experienced here?

Dave Marion: Tons of good things thats for sure, probably the best I’d say is just getting to see new places. You kinda get burned out in the States after you’ve seen it all over and over and over again, it’s always fun, but just getting to see a new place, parts of the country we haven’t seen before. The bugs suck though, we’ve been camping or staying in the van and the last little while has been pretty bad.

SOL: Adam is a vegan, how hard is it to find food for him in Canada?

DM: It’s hard sometimes, but he gets by pretty well. He’s a little picky on what he eats, but, I’ll eat anything. It’s kinda hard when we get to a place that doesn’t have food for him, I feel a little bad for him because I can enjoy any meal. It seems rough at times, I know I couldn’t do it.

SOL: You’ve said previously that you like when fans get involved in your shows,
how do you cope at festival shows where security is amped up and fan interaction becomes much harder?

DM:
You kind just go into it knowing it’s going to be like that, you have to translate your energy in different ways. I’m not so good at talking to the crowd, and I find it’s hard to find the right words to say, I figure the songs speak better. I feel there’s something special about festival shows and getting in front of that many people is like a different high all by itself.

SOL: Your lyrics are really intricate, harboring allegories, metaphors, hidden meanings, do you intend on creating these or do they just come as you’re writing?

DM:
Sometimes they start as journal entries, on the new record I kept more personal than the allegories. I just find with those kind of things they can reach more people and doesn’t have to mean the same thing for every person, people will find their own meaning.

SOL: You use Disney movies in brutal metaphors, what’s with that?

DM: Those movies are pretty fucked up, when you are a little kid you dont notice the subtleties of it. I try and remind people that everything you see is not always correct.

SOL: Jeremy Fisher and Anthony Green make an apperance on the last album, is there any cameos on the new album?

DM: Quintin from Vox, Thomas from Fall of Troy, Drew from I Am the Ocean, I think thats it. We try and involve other bands in stuff as much as we can.

SOL: What is the direction of the new album compared to The Always Open Mouth?

DM: It still sounds like us, it’s really dark, it has the energy that Art Damage had. On the last album, some of the songs were electronic based, we started with the electronics and built them up from there, this time, we wrote the songs and wrote the electronics to that. It’s so much different for us, because we’ve got a new drummer and a fresh lineup, it feels like a first record again,
you’re excited and you know everyone else is. I can’t wait for people to hear it.

Q: Brandon Proff used to do your layouts, now that hes no longer part of the band have you gone somewhere else?

DM:
David Bell, the director of the “Taking Cassandra to the End of the World Party” video is doing the artwork, every time he comes out he brings his sketchbook and it’s just Amazing. Brandon is still going to do the layout, he still does some of our merch designs…He always seems to be doing something new.

SOL: Whats the weirdest thing thats ever happened on tour?

DM: This one time, I got my head split open by Mike’s bass and I had a bunch of paper towels to wipe it up with. When I got cleaned up, I put them down by the monitor and this girl picked them up and put them in her purse….and that’s just strange haha… I’ve been hit a lot of times, I’ve got artificial dimples from being hit in the face…but at least I’ve got my eyeballs…

Fear Before the March of Flames new album drops October 28th on Equal Vison Records.
“I don’t care as long as we get there…get there…get there”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

